Book Review: Ashley's War, The Untold Story of a Team of Women Soldiers on the Special Ops Battlefield by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon

Image
Ashley's War:  The Untold Story of a Team of Women Soldiers on the Special Ops Battlefield by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon is a non-fiction book published in April 2015.  The story follows several women and their quest to become the first women to be in combat along the Green Berets and Army Rangers. This is a book that was selected in my workplace for discussion between women and/or veterans.  The book discussion was broken into three parts much like how the story was broken up.  It garnered great conversations. Some of the things that happened in the book didn't surprise me, such as how physically demanding the tryouts were to be part of the special operations.  It's a demanding job that requires people to be not only physically strong but mentally strong.     What did shock me was that it took the military so long to allow women to fight along men on the battlefield.  Another thing that astonished me were how accepting most of the men in the Army Rangers were of the women fight

Book Reviews 2020

classic books
Are you looking for a book recommendation? Or, did you miss one of The Running Bibliophile's Book Reviews in 2020? Check out these book recommendations and book reviews below. You may just find a new favorite author.

We try to be as honest as we can about the books we review without being too hurtful or critical of the author as we know that their books are labors of love. Sometimes, certain books just aren't for us. Don't for get to follow us on our social media platforms. Links are below.





January 2020

February 2020

March 2020

April 2020

May 2020

June 2020

July 2020

August 2020

September 2020

  • The New Girl (Fear Street, #1) by R.L. Stine 
  • The Surprise Party (Fear Street, #2) by R.L. Stine

October 2020

  • Kristy and the Walking Disaster (The Baby-Sitters Club #20) by Ann M. Martin
  • Mallory and the Trouble With Twins (The Baby-Sitters Club, #21) by Ann M. Martin
  • Notorious Nineteen (Stephanie Plum, #19) by Janet Evanovich
  • Takedown Twenty (Stephanie Plum, #20) by Janet Evanovich
  • Twelve Sharp (Stephanie Plum, #12) by Janet Evanovich
  • Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, #3) by Janet Evanovich 
  • More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2) by J.K. Rowling  

November 2020

  • Jeopardy in High Heels (High Heels, #12) by Gemma Halliday and Catherine Bruns  
  • The Spellmans Strike Again (The Spellmans, #4) by Lisa Lutz
  • Confessions on the 7:45 by Lisa Unger
  • The Overnight (Fear Street, #3) by R.L. Stine 

December 2020

  • Missing (Fear Street, #4) by R.L. Stine
  • Scary Stories 3, More Tales To Chill Your Bones (Scary Stories, #3) by Alvin Schwartz, Illustrator Stephen Gammell
  • Welcome To Junior High (Girl Talk, #1) by L.E. Blair 
  • Roasting in Hell's Kitchen: Temper Tantrums, F Words, and the Pursuit of Perfection by Gordon Ramsay
  • The Silent Scream (Nightmare Hall, #1) by Diane Hoh
 
 

Follow Us On Social Media

https://www.facebook.com/runningbibliophile/https://www.instagram.com/therunningbibliophile/https://www.pinterest.com/therunningbibliophile/

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Product Review: Mr. Clean: Clean Freak Deep Cleaning Mist - Gain Scent

Product Review: Naturelle Biotera, Anti-Frizz Intense Smoothing Shampoo & Conditioner

Book Review: Hidden Beneath (Maine Clambake Mystery, #11) by Barbara Ross